Media Mythmakers Reviews

 

In keeping with the spirit of fairness in my book, I will post all published reviews of my book, including any negative reviews. It’s misleading when ads for films or books only show the good reviews and hide the negative ones. Valid comments—whether praise or criticism—are welcomed.

“With insight and wit, Benjamin Radford trains his skeptical eye on fearmongering journalists and activists. The result is a fascinating book that leaves no modern American myth unchallenged.” – Barry Glassner, Ph. D., author of The Culture of Fear

“In the spirit of Vance Packard and Ralph Nader, Ben Radford delivers a blistering critique of the subtle media forces that vie for our hearts, minds, and wallets. A thoroughly enjoyable read-acerbic, witty, and right on the money. This would make an ideal book for college courses on mass media, journalism, and advertising.” – Robert Bartholomew, Ph.D., author of Exotic Deviance

“This book should be required reading for all who are caught up in the thrall of U.S. mass media… Written in an appealing style devoid of academic jargon and pontification, this book peels away the myths that mislead and provides the facts. It should be on every library shelf. Essential!” – Choice – Current Review for Academic Libraries, April 2004

“A provocative, well-researched book… gives an apt overview of many problems facing modern society.” – Oakland Press (Pontiac, Michigan), January 2004

“Radford offers hundreds of examples of deceptive practices in journalism, advertising, political activism, public relations, and charity appeals.” – The Futurist, January/February 2004

“As entertaining as it is informative…” – Vermont Comic News, October 2003

“Many editors and TV news directors will find it uncomfortably close to the truth… it is unsparing in its criticism.” – Sacramento Bee, December 2003

“In his provocative book Media Mythmakers, Ben Radford not only illustrates many instances of deceptive journalism, advertising, and political activism, but also explores the motives that can prompt individuals to present misleading claims, whether intentionally or unintentionally. At least as interesting and important are Radford’s discussions of the troubling implications of media myths and the steps that we can all take to safeguard ourselves against misinformation. This book is a fascinating read of value to policymakers, educators, students, and those who wish to become better-informed citizens and consumers of information.”
– John Ruscio, Ph.D., associate professor of psychology Elizabethtown College

Praise for Radford’s previous book, Hoaxes, Myths, and Manias:

“…could easily fit into an introductory psychology course, or courses on social psychology and human cognition… a good entertaining introduction to critical thinking for the general reader and for undergraduates.” – Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books, Vol. 49, No. 6, December 2004

“…you are certain to be amused and amazed in equal parts…an entertaining and enlightening book.”
Psychology Today, March/April 2003

“…fast-paced and intriguing…anyone with an interest in the odd or in critical thinking should read.”
Statesman Journal, June 22, 2003

“For those who trust their own intellect, this book will prove refreshing, interesting reading.”
– Bookviews.com, May 2003